It’s already the second week of November

Dusty Aggie ringWhen I stumbled on the flyer advertising this green roof project during the last week of August and ran around like a chicken with its head cut off trying to get into the class for it, I really had no idea what to expect. Sure, I knew what a green roof was; sure, I had idealistic, environmentalist dreams of communities that wanted green roofs and built them with and for the benefit of their own resources. I had no idea, however, how to go about making that happen. I could tell someone the benefits of having a green roof, but I could not help them build one.
Ten weeks later, that is no longer the case. I know why and how we put down roof tiles (protection of the fragile Langford roof), how to get innovative when donated materials aren’t quite what was hope for (drill, hammer, block of wood, pocket knife), how to test soil for moisture (and how to find my way around the horticulture forest science building to find where to learn that), how to assemble the modules for planting (gravel, buffer layer, and – of all things – play sand), how many modules can fit in the bed of Kirk’s truck (30+), and the importance of variables such as types of plants and exposure to sun.
I wouldn’t know any of these things without the instructors and the other students involved in the project. I’m a parks and natural resources management major so getting to work with a number of horticulture, landscape architecture, and meteorology majors is such an opportunity to learn so many things. I am lucky to be part of a group of students and faculty that have so much to share with each other.
There is still so much more to know. We have begun to put plants in the modules on the roof, and we are about to install an irrigation system. I know that the work doesn’t end there, and I couldn’t be more excited to continue learning from this project and the people involved in it for the rest of the semester.
Cheers!
hr

Leave a Reply

